Staying on track while traveling.

Yesterday I spent 10.5 hours on a bus from Tempe Arizona to Albuquerque New Mexico for a conference this weekend.  Needless to say, there were not a lot of healthy choices.  I did plan ahead and pack healthy snacks but realized I really need to invest in a good cooler for road trips.  Overall, I would say my food choices were semi-healthy, but the day was not a home run by any means.  Here is what I ate:

6:30 a.m.

Skinny Latte with 2 pumps of caramel (7p+)

9:00 a.m.

17 slices of turkey pepperoni (3p+)

1 string cheese (1.5 p+)

10:30 a.m.

2 ounces of walnuts (5p+)

1:00 p.m.

Wendy’s pecan blue cheese apple salad (5p+)

Wendy’s small chili (5p+)

4:00 p.m.

Veggie Chips (3p+)

7:00 p.m.

String cheese (1.5 p+)

8:30 p.m.

Carrots and green beans (0p+)

Overall it wasn’t too terrible, I tried to get nutritious food when I could, but I had very limited choices.  Plus I was on a bus all day, just sitting there. Doing NOTHING! One thing is for sure, I wouldn’t want to be a bus driver or truck driver. Even though my job is very sedindary, I can get up and walk around pretty much whenever I feel like it.

The conference that I am attending is essentially a student leadership conference for college students involved in Residence Hall Association (RHA) so it is held on a college campus every year.  This year the host is the University of New Mexico.  I can’t say I love Tempe, so I was really suprised how much I love UMN’s campus and the city of Albuquerque.  It was absolutely gorgeous today and the feel of the city was totally different than anything I have found in Arizona.  The theme of the conference is Disney’s Up.  Here I am dressed up as Carl.

Today I did choose to indulge in an enchilada, but I had a half serving at lunch and a half serving at dinner.  I also found the school’s Co-op and stocked up on some fruit and water there.

Tonight when I got back from dinner I went to find the fitness center and ended up finding an entire gym!  I ran for 20 minutes total and ended up running for seven minutes straight, which is the longest I have run in over a year!

When I got back to the hotel I found the hospitality room and they had whole platters of veggies.  A super healthy end to my day!

 

So overall I guess I am doing alright.  I planned ahead by packing snacks and bringing my workout stuff, even though I didn’t know if I would get a chance to workout.

If you travel a lot for work how do you make healthy choices?  Do you have go-to snacks you pack? Do you bring workout clothes with you?

Tips and Advice is appreciated!

Leave a Reply

