Caffeine Detox

I love coffee… maybe a little bit too much. I have a fantastic coffee shop right across the street from where I live and work and they know my order without me having to ask.  Which is wonderful…and maybe a little bit pathetic.

I  have successfully been off coffee and any form of caffeine for a week!

Every 4-6 months I like to take a break from drinking coffee, especially when I feel like I am becoming too dependent on it or like it is losing its power.  The last time I took on this challenge was this summer and I went 40 days without coffee.

Of course the first few days are the hardest, but here are some steps that have made going cold turkey easier for me:

  • Choose a week where you don’t have a lot going on.  Finals week probably isn’t the most ideal time.
  • Feel free to take a nap when you need to. Of course, if you are working a 40+ hour week, this will be a challenge.  I decided to pick the week that I was on vacation.
  • Keep Exercising.  Exercise even if you feel tired because it will inevitably give you more energy.
  • Replace coffee with water. Drink as much as you can, at least half your weight (in pounds) in water (ounces).

This time I didn’t experience headaches or feel overly tired like I did last time.  If that is the case for you, I would suggest trying a couple of Advil and adequate rest.

I have noticed that I have been falling asleep faster and have felt more rested when I get up in the morning.

Have you ever decided to take a break from coffee?  Please share any successes or failures, tips and tricks!

Peace and Love,

Amber

Leave a Reply

