A Healthy Holiday Season

Shorter days, sweaters, colder weather; all reasons to stay inside, skip the gym and eat a little (or a lot) more.  As I write this, I am snuggled in my bed with a warm comforter keeping me toasty, and did I mention that it is already dark outside?

Winter is a time where it is easy to slack off, slow down, rest on our laurels, or give up.  This year I am resolving to keep healthy, fit, and motivated.   I am not going to give up until New Years Day.  Why gain five or ten pounds when my goal is to lose weight for good?

I am approaching my weight loss as a lifestyle change, not a temporary fix.  I know I feel better when I work out, eat right, and take care of my body, so that is what I plan on doing.  Although it would be easy to eat pizza and watch movies all night, I know that if I go to the gym and get a smoothie I will sleep better tonight and feel better immediately.  In a few minutes I will get up, put on my workout clothes and get my butt to the gym. I have learned that instant gratification often leads to extended consequences.

To keep me motivated, here are some of my goals for the next week:

  • attend two yoga classes
  • run/walk a combination of 6 miles
  • attend my weight watchers meeting
  • drink 100 oz. of water everyday
  • eat one piece of chocolate (no more, no less)
  • appreciate myself and my accomplishments

Do you have any goals for yourself this week? Are you also motivated by setting goals for yourself?

Here is me completing one of my big life goals, the 2009 Lifetime Fitness Triathlon

Peace and Love,

Amber

Leave a Reply

