A Consious Choice and a Prayer

I had a wonderful day today.  I finally got back to my Weight Watchers meeting (was down a pound!), had lunch with my friend K., got in a great workout at the gym (next to a hot guy) and grabbed an early dinner of sushi with another friend A. before doing a little shopping at the mall and a lot of shopping at Walmart for an upcoming program where students can “wrap” their doors with holiday gift wrap.  We bought over $1000.00 of wrapping paper and pretty much bought Walmart out of stock.

My day actually started off with a lot of stress.  I won’t get into too many details, but a serious situation took place while I was on call and I was the one to figure things out and handle it.  Things wrapped up around 9:00 a.m. and by that point I was running late for my Weight Watchers meeting.  I also couldn’t find my little book I needed to weigh in and called my mom to try to look up the code for me as I was racing to my car.   I ended up making it to WW on time and did get to weigh in but was disheveled and stressed out.   After WW I went to meet K. at Paradise Bakery and decided to break my two week streak without coffee and ordered a caramel latte and oatmeal with cherries.  As I sat and waited for my friend K. to join me I realized in that moment that I had a choice.  I could start my day over right then and there, and that’s what I did.

Admist all the chaos of the morning I also did stop and pray several times.  I consider myself spritiual, but not relighous and my go-to prayer is the Serenity Prayer. In case you aren’t familar, it goes like this: “God, Grant me the Serenity, to Accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference”.   It might sound cheesy, but I believe that everything happens for a reason, and God had put me exactly where I needed to be at every moment of the day, even when I was tearing my room apart to find my Weight Watchers booklet.   I have found that Faith is the opposite of Fear.  In the presence of Faith, Fear cannot survive.

I feel truly blessed for the wonderful day I was given and all the many opportunities that I was presented today.  I had enough to eat, I was surrounded by great friends and laughter, I have a wonderful job where I get to help people, I am alive and healthy…the list goes on and on.

Also, a Big Happy Birthday to my Papa.  I love you very much.

I hope you all are able to reflect on your blessings as well.

Peace and Love,

Amber

Leave a Reply

