How to get to the gym when you really don’t feel like it

This past week, I am 0 for 7 in days that I really wanted to get to the gym in workout. Determination won out and I made it to the gym 6 days, only missing once when I worked from 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. on Tuesday.

If you are like me and need a little (or a lot) of motivation to workout. Here are a few tips that have worked for me

  • Put it on your calendar.  I am more likely to workout when I schedule or make time to do it.  Even if you only have a half hour you could potentially burn over 200 calories and have time to shower.
  • Tell on yourself.  This is a huge motivation for me.  If I say I am going to do something, I do it because I want to be a woman of integrity and my word is my bond.  Today I probably told 7 people in person that I was going to work out after work- and I did.
  • Buy nice workout clothes.  I only have 2 or three pairs of good workout pants and two great sports bras so I do a lot of laundry.  If that’s too much for you, buy enough to last you a week so you have clean gear ready to go.
  • Make sure your gear fits you right.  There is nothing worse than cringing  when you look in the mirror at Zumba because you are wearing ugly oversized men’s basketball shorts (take it from me, I figured this out personally).
  • Sign up for a race (or set a new goal). My sister recently completed a Thanksgiving 5k.  For her, the race helped motivated her to keep up with her couch to 5k plan.  Now that she has completed 2 races she works to set her own personal records.
  • Reward yourself for working out.  On WW, you can earn extra points by working out. Although I have never used my activity points, I do buy into the concept of rewarding yourself for accomplishing your goals.  At work I have a sheet labeled “Amber’s Weight Loss” and I give myself a sticker every time I lose a pound.  If stickers won’t do it for you, maybe a long bath or watching an episode of your favorite show when you get back from the gym would work.
  • Find a workout buddy.  Although my Arizona workout buddies constantly bail on me, knowing my mom and sister are working out in Wisconsin and Minnesota helps me get to the gym.  I am motivated by their determination and success (Good job mom and Cassie!).

I would love to hear how you motivate yourself.  Have any of these tips motivated you to workout?

Peace and Love,

Amber

Leave a Reply

