Instant Happy

I’ll admit that every once and a while I get into a grumpy crabby mood.  Do I like being a cranky witch? Heck no, but sometimes it happens.  Unless you are truly an angel, I am sure you too sometimes get a case of the crabbies.  I have learned that I can work to change my attitude, and with a few helpful strategies, you may be seeing through rose colored lenses too.

1. Take care of yourself.  If I don’t get enough sleep or don’t work out regularly I feel tired and cranky all day.  As you may know from reading this blog, working out does not come naturally for me, but when I do force myself to the gym I never regret it.  I leave sweaty, put happy and sweaty.

2. Give yourself enough time. The other day I hit the snooze button on my alarm 8 or 9 times before finally rolling out of bed and by that point I was running late.  If I had only gotten up 10 minutes earlier I probably would have had enough time to take my time getting ready.  Anyhow, the evil forces were conspiring against me and as I was rushing to make my morning smoothie, I spilled milk all over my kitchen floor.This didn’t help improve my mood and I ended up getting to work a few minutes late….which brings me to my next point.

3. Restart your day.  A wise woman once told me that you can start your day over at any time.  You don’t need to keep having a bad day- YOU are in control.  Just like when you were 5, you can claim a “do-over”

3. Listen to music that make you happy. Currently, I am enjoying Christmas music all day at work.  The cheery tunes and joyful messages make me happy.  Apparently this notion has been studied at the Mayo clinic and according to Dr. Amit Sood,  the happy sounds of music release dopamine (a.k.a. the happy drug) Here is the link to the original article.

4. Read your resume. By taking a look at your accomplishments you’ll see how awesome you truly are.  When I look at my resume I think of all the hard work I put into undergrad and graduate school.  If your resume doesn’t give you a confidence boost take a look at old “Thank You” cards or emails that highlight how you have helped others.  Personally, I keep all of the thank you cards I receive and put them up on a wall in my office.  I usually receive about one thank you card a month, and if I haven’t gotten one in awhile it reminds me to start doing more to help others.

5. Surround yourself with positive people.  Simple enough, spend time with the people you love and make you happy.  If you work 40+ hours like me, you may have some crabby coworkers or employees who you can’t avoid, but I would encourage you to just try to show them the love and support you’d want someone to show you or your family.  If you can’t do that, try your best not to let their bad attitude get to you.

Feel free to share with me any helpful tips that make you smile!

Peace and Love,

Amber

Leave a Reply

