Why working out really does make a difference

I now workout 5-7 days a week, usually for about 40-60 minutes each session.   Although I know I don’t “have to” work out, I know I feel better when I do.

workout

At lunch today, I told one of my coworkers that I thought he should workout tonight since he said he was really stressed with work.  Another coworker told me that “working out doesn’t work for everyone” but I think she is wrong.  Exercise is for everyone.  There are modifications that can be made to a variety of different activities.  Knee trouble? Swim.  Broken arm? Ride the exercise bike or walk on the treadmill.  Overweight or obese? Try beginners yoga or Wii fit.  I didn’t always like working out, heck, sometimes I still hate it, but guess what?  Most things that are worthwhile or benefical aren’t easy.

The point is that exercise is so beneficial to our overall health and wellness, and not just for weight loss.  Exercise helps improve mood, helps you sleep better, and curbs appetite.  Exercise can also reverse the aging process!  According to a 2010 study from the University of California—San Francisco, researchers found that stressed women who exercised vigorously for an average of 45 minutes over a three-day period had cells that showed fewer signs of aging compared to women who were stressed and inactive.

I would never try really hard not to push anything on anyone who doesn’t want to hear it because people generally don’t change until they make a consious choice to change on their own.  In this sense, I am sure I am preaching to the choir. However, if you are debating whether or not to get to the gym tonight maybe this post will help get you there.

Peace and Love,

Amber

References:

http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/exercise/HQ01676

http://health.usnews.com/health-news/diet-fitness/slideshows/7-mind-blowing-benefits-of-exercise/2

Leave a Reply

