The importance of keeping and reviewing a food journal

Last night I worked out with my friend’s trainer and was offered a giant serving of humility   I thought I was in great shape, but it only took about 5 minutes of planking and push-ups to prove that I was dead wrong.  I am determined to push myself harder, but realized I really do need to tone up and work on strength in tandem with cardio.

My new trainer also had me send him my food journal.  I thought nothing of it because I track everyday and stay within my daily and weekly points.  By reviewing my eating habits, I found that I have been making some really poor choices- processed foods, not enough fruit and veggies, and barely any protein   I will let you see for yourself.  this is my food journal from the last 4 days:

Day 1
 
8:30 Latte w/ skim milk and torrani syrup (9 pts)
10:30 banana
12:00 salad with spinach, peppers, mushrooms and 2 tbsp honey mustard dressing and 7 croutons (8 pts)
1:00 1 lindor truffle (2 pts)
3:00 small latte with 1 tbsp syrup (6 pts)
5:00 pretzels with hummus (5 pts)
Day 2
 
8:30 Latte w/ skim milk and torrani syrup (9 pts)
10:00 orange
12:00 lean cuisine pizza (8 pts)
3:00 1 orowheat sandwich thin with 1 tbsp peanut butter (8 pts)
6:00 oatmeal with raisins and 1 tbsp brown sugar (8 pts)
Day 3
9:30 Latte w/ skim milk and torrani syrup (9 pts)
10:00 mixed nuts (6 pts)
3:00 oatmeal with raisins and 1 tbsp brown sugar (8 pts)
5:00 pretzels and hummus (5 points)
7:30 Chipotle salad with Chicken (12 points)
9:00 2 oz fro yo (4 pts)
Day 4
8:30 Latte w/ skim milk and torrani syrup (9 pts)
10:00 pineapple
12:00 lean cuisine pizza (9 pts)
5:00 spinach and 1 hard boiled egg  (2 pts)
7:00 1 piece whole wheat bread and 2 tbsp pb (7 pts)
Wow.  This is truly pathetic.  I am not a nutritionist, but it’s easy to see why my weight loss has slowed down.  I have been filling up on a lot of processed garbage and WAY too much sugar. Today I am going to research some healthy and easy meals to start preparing and try to refocus on healthy choices.
Leave a Reply

