Mixing it up

I have been focusing on eating healthy clean eating. I will be the first to tell you that I do not do clean perfectly, it’s more like clean-ish.

I can get behind the concept of clean eating because I do think it is healthy and everyone should have water be the foundation of their meal plan/diet.

I do not however think Paleo is sustainable.  If you can do it- awesome- you deserve a Gold star. From what I understand it is basically vegan + limited carbs. I think I could last about 5 minutes on that plan.

For those who do not know the difference, I found this chart on itsuxtobefat.com today, which makes both diets easy to understand.

Image

So basically I eat pretty clean, with the occasional fro yo or chipotle splurge in there.

I also posted today to get some ideas on healthy snacks and meals and a few friends suggested some tasty options like fruit and yogurt, cucumbers and hummus, chicken and salad.  Tonight I sauteed spinach, made chicken burgers (from the frozen section of Trader Joe’s) and make a smoothie with kale, sweet potatoes, almond milk, and protein powder.  I thought I was being really healthy, but that dinner contained 14 points- which is half my daily points.

Today I didn’t even feel THAT hungry until around 3:00.

Here’s what I had to eat

Screen shot 2013-04-22 at 8.05.06 PMScreen shot 2013-04-22 at 8.05.23 PM

 

Am I crazy or is that  A LOT of food? Does anyone have suggestions of how to eat less and feel fuller?  Is it because I didn’t workout today that I was so hungry?

I would love to hear your comments and thoughts.

My goal is to make it through the rest of the week eating healthy and not to go over my daily and weekly points.  Eesh.  Wish me luck.

Peace and Love,

Amber

 

3 thoughts on “Mixing it up

  1. I’m no expert..I just enjoy eating healthy as well. But in my opinion, it looks like your dinner was by far the biggest meal. Could you have had that smoothie as a snack or made that your breakfast instead? Personally, I don’t like pairing smoothies with meals, I think that smoothie sounds very healthy but it seems like it would be a lot to have that with a meal. Maybe try lighter smoothies for snacks or as your breakfast? And I love trying to follow the rule of thumb where most of my dinner plate is veggies/greens, a little bit of healthy carbs like brown rice, sweet potato and then a little bit of lean protein, like chicken. Not sure if this helps at all, but just my opinions! BTW- What type of meal plan or diet are you following with the point system?

    • Thank you for the advice! I think you are 100% right, I need to switch things up and try to eat lighter at dinner.
      I follow Weight Watchers, and the points are points plus on their system. Based on my height/weight I get 28 a day.

      • Oh ok, my mom is actually doing WW right now. But definitely think of your eating schedule like a pyramid. Eat your largest meal for breakfast and smallest meal for dinner! And eat lots of veggies, some lean protein and limit your carbs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

