run. work. run.

As I mentioned many times before, I work in Residence Life and Housing at a University.  There are two extremely busy times in the year- opening in August and closing in May.  This week I will be working a lot of 12 or 14 hour days, so I have no idea how I am going to get my workouts in, however I plan on trying because running is such a huge stress relief.  

Note to self.  Take time out to run, eat, and shower.

Image

Yup…that seems about right.

I am also on duty all weekend, meaning that anytime my phone rings I need to answer it and respond to calls.  Super fun.

So after coming in early to help with room inspections (we have 1723 spaces in our building BTW) I decided to run before I lost the motivation to do so.  It was a good choice and I ran 2 miles straight without stopping.  I haven’t done that in over 3 years!

I started to get stressed out in the afternoon after some shenanigans that took 3 hours to resolve.  Ugh.  At least it made me feel like my life is kind of together.

TIL that no matter how stressed out, confident, or annoyed I might be, it is not becoming to act like a first rate grade-A asshole.  I am not going to name names, but it made me think a lot about the way I act.  There are times, especially when I am on duty that I can be nicer.  I am trying to work on that.

Image

Note to self.  Be nicer and don’t act like an uber bitch…even if you are hangry.

Since my stress kept elevating, I decided to run again this afternoon.  It helped.  A lot.  I don’t do a lot of 2-a-day workouts, but today I felt like I needed it.  My stress is gone, and my head is clear.  I can’t control what other people do or say, but I can manage my own stress and control my own reactions and emotions…sometimes easier said than done.

Now I need to go eat something…possibly something covered in chocolate. 

Peace and Love,

Amber

Leave a Reply

