Sugar Addict

I’m apologizing right now because this post kind of has a Debbie Downer vibe going on.

This past week has been awful. I have been overeating, and what I consider bingeing- starting to eat something (usually sugar) and feeling like I can’t stop.  It is completely ridiculous and out of control.  I also keep telling myself that tomorrow is a new day and I will start over then.  That is basically alcoholic thinking- and I would know.  

If anyone out there is an over-eater, I really need advice.  I have worked SO hard to lose over 30 pounds and I don’t want to undo my progress now.  I am pretty sure that my job search stress has me reverting to my old ways.  

I keep on thinking that there is a bigger issue here.  I have been overweight all my life and have always had a terrible relationship with food, including some disordered eating.  I have lost weight before but have always gained it back and this time I am determined to break that cycle.  If anyone has advice or has gone through this themselves, please let me know what solution you have found.  I am desperate. 

Image

Yep.  I can relate… especially when it is one of my three food groups: sugar, coffee, or Chipotle.

Work continues to be busy, just as I predicted, but I actually like it that way because the time flies by.  I have great Community Assistants and will really miss them when I leave.  I also am grateful that one of my co-workers let me go home and take a nap today since I only managed to get 4 hours of sleep last night.

Tonight I baked hummingbird cake.  What is that you ask?  A recipe a modified from Food Network’s, which can be found here. Basically it is a spice cake with banana and pineapple. I added shredded coconut, and used butter instead of oil.  

Image

Butter makes everything better.

My phone takes crappy photos, so I didn’t take a picture, but it smells pretty awesome.  It’s also covered with a cream cheese frosting, so that’s pretty calorie-tastic.  Maybe I just need to stop baking so I don’t have tempting desserts around.

Tomorrow is a new day.  Onward and upward.

Peace and Love,

Amber

Leave a Reply

