Late night baking

I love to bake.  It’s relaxing, a big stress reliever, makes me feel connected to my amazing grandmother, and oh yeah- I get to eat whatever delicious concoction I bake!Yesterday I made Jello Poke Cake.  If you’ve never tried it before, don’t let the “jello” through you off.  There is jello in the cake, but basically it makes the cake super moist and adds flavor.  This cake is super easy to make: 

  • Step one.  make a white boxed cake mix according to the directions.
  • Step two. let that bitch cool, then poke a ton of holes in it with a fork.
  • Step three: prepare your jello and pour it over the cake.  Refrigerate for 3 hours- overnight.
  • Step four: slather that sucker with Cool Whip.
  • Step five: Enjoy that cake, and the compliments from all your friends.

Image

Today is the seventh day of a row of duty.  It hasn’t been too terrible, but at this point I am just over it.  This morning I got a phone call at 12:30 because a student had locked their keys in their room, and when I went over to help them I couldn’t even get the master key out anyhow.  It’s now 2:30 in the morning and I can’t fall back asleep so I did what any 1/2 crazy person would do- bake. 

I found a recipe on Chobani for sticky toffee pudding.  I have never actually had sticky toffee pudding before, except in the form of super addicting ice cream and fro yo.  This “healthier” version still used over a stick of butter, but it smells delicious as it bakes away in my oven.  

In other news, I had my two interviews today.  The first was ok.  I don’t think I knocked it out of the park, and our Skype connection was interrupted 5 times during the interview, but I made it through and will hear back on Monday.  The second one went well, and I think they like me. I will also hear back from them on Monday.  I also have another Skype interview set up for Monday, so I am hoping that one is uninterrupted and successful.  I decided not to go on the other interview I was talking about yesterday.   I prayed about the decision, and I just have a feeling I am not meant to be there at this time in my life.

Have a fun and relaxing weekend! 

Peace and Love,

Amber

 

 

Leave a Reply

