Study Buddy

Update: The sticky toffee pudding was ok. good-not great. I feel like it was missing something.  Maybe rasins and nuts.  I think I will experiment with that recipe again.

Since I didn’t get a lot of great sleep, I thought I would sleep in until at least 10.  Wrong.  I woke up to a phone call from the front desk because our computer wasn’t working.  I got that taken care of, and because my head was pounding, decided to grab my usual latte.  I am not going to lie- I am extremely worried about my caffeine options next week while I am babysitting and can’t leave the house for three days.  (I’m babysitting for my usual kiddos while their parents go to Napa Valley).. and on top of that I have to get to their house at 4:00 a.m. on Tuesday. Lawd help me.

Since it’s too hot to go outside for more than 5 minutes, I decided to study up for my interviews. I realized that I have been learning a lot about the schools, which is good, but I don’t think I practice enough for the questions. I have been taking notes and writing out answers to the different competencies in the job descriptions, such as Conduct, Conflict management, advising, supervising, etc.  

Image

If only I had actually studied this much in high school.

I feel like I know the information, now I just need to perfect the skill of answering questions throughly, including providing a detailed example.  I also found this extremely helpful article on Interviewing for Residence Director Jobs.  Although I knew a lot of this info, the article was very well written and articulate.

I have also been watching you-tube videos on topics of social justice and diversity, including a lot by Tim Wise.  I think Tim Wise is incredibly intelligent, but he just sounds so mad… not that he shouldn’t be.  If you haven’t heard of him, he is an author (White like me, Dear White America, Color-Blind) and speaker on topics of White Privilege and anti-racism. Wise makes many great points about the color of our skin often affects the way we interact and perceive others.  I hope to start reading his books and learn more from his and others on these issues.  In several ways, feel like this job search has waken me up to the fact that I still have a lot to learn and contribute in my job.  I really hope that I have a boss that challenges me and supports me in the pursuit of knowledge at the next institution I work for.

I got in a really good run today. I pushed myself and completed 3.1 miles on the treadmill- so I did a 5k today.  I had to stop running a few times, but I felt really strong.  It was a great workout and I am positive all the cake I ate last night had something to do with that. 

Soon I am off to a farewell dinner with my senior CA.  We’re going to Chipotle- but hey! She picked*.  I will be sad to see her go, but know she is off to really good things.  Although no job is perfect, I have very much appreciated the opportunity to get to personally know so many of the CAs I supervise.  They are very different, but very special… like snowflakes.

*She may know that I am totally addicted to Chipotle.

Peace and Love,

Amber

Leave a Reply

