A trip to Costco and Coconut Blueberry Chia Muffins

Let me tell you about this little store called Costco I discovered…

Costco is both amazing and  dangerous.  By the time I hit the checkout line I guarantee that I have at least $100 in my giant shopping cart (I have asked the boyfriend to push me in the giant carts, and sadly he has denied my requests).  Costco is great because you pay so little per item, but not so great because unless you are the Duggars or the Gosselins who is going to need a 3 pound tub of mayo?

I went to Costco this weekend looking for a fitbit and a comforter and found neither one (the fitbit flex does sell at Costco, but they sell out fast).  I did however come away with a 5 lb. tub of coconut oil, coconut flour, sugar snap peas, 2 giant tubs of Metamucil, a kick ass gel foam pillow, and raspberries.  All and all a successful trip.

I had no idea what I was going to do with the coconut flour-it was a total impulse buy.  I did however have everything needed to make the blueberry muffins on the back of the package.  OMG. They were amazing. I will continue to experiment with the coconut flour, but I am pretty crazy about the coconut oil, flour, and O.N.E. coconut water.  They all just taste so great to me.  

I am inspired to start baking healthfully, which can be quite the challenge.  I have some ideas, and I hope that I have some success. I love baking so much, but see the negative consequences of sugar and white flour. I always want to eat what I bake, but that is a treacherous road. 

Here is the recipe from Nutiva.  It’s not on their website, but I would recommend checking it out because there are many other amazing recipes there. 

Coconut Blueberry Chia Muffins

Gluten and Dairy Free

Makes 12 muffins

1 C. coconut flour

1/2 tsp sea salt

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 + 2 tbsp raw honey (I just used regular honey)

1 cup coconut milk

6 eggs (yes, 6…coconut flour soaks up a lot of liquid)

4 tbsp coconut oil, melted

4 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup blueberries

Preheat oven to 350. Sift the coconut flour, salt, and baking soda in a bowl.  

In a separate bowl blend together honey, coconut milk, eggs, coconut oil, and vanilla (if you have an immersion blender, break that bad boy out.

Gently stir wet ingredients into dry ingredients and mix in the chia seeds.  

Fold in blueberries.

Spoon into 12 lined muffin tins.

Bake for 25 minutes or until muffins begin to turn golden brown and are baked through. 

These were so great, and by my estimation have about 236 calories per muffin.

Leave a Reply

