A little bit of this…a little bit of that

I have truly been implemented the “baby steps” approach in my life this summer.

I set three goals for myself:
Garden

Read

Workout

Because I kept my goals simple, I have been able to accomplish all of three.

Right now my garden is flourishing and I am still planting. I have also been Google researching and consulting my mom for advice. 

I just finished the Book American Gods by Neil Gaiman and am honestly not sure what my final impressions are.  I mostly liked it, but wasn’t completely in love with it.  I also finished the book Nothing to Envy by Barbara Demick, which was extremely sad but very well written.  Next on my list is The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon.

Working out has been a struggle.  I was really finding my stride with running, and then my developed knee pain.  Currently I am attending physical therapy once a week since my knees creak and moan like an old man’s. Since I am supposed to ice my knees, stretch, and complete specific strengthening exercises, I made myself a sticker chart and for every day I complete all three tasks I get a sticker. Once I have 25 stickers I get to buy myself a new MAC lipstick.

I have continued to workout with my personal trainer once a week and have begun to swim and bike, which I find incredibly dull.  I like the way my body feels and looks when I am running and so far I haven’t found the perfect exercise to fill that place. 

So that’s about it.  Consistency, dedication and perseverance

Here’s to a summer of completing your goals!

Amber

Leave a Reply

