Organizing

Can’t find your keys? Missed a doctor’s appointment? Late for another meeting?

Organization transcends beyond mess and clutter and can seriously mess up your life.

I love helping people become better organized and I am constantly challenging myself to develop better organizational habits.

Currently I am reading Organizing for Dummies by Eileen Roth and with Elizabeth Miles

dummies-book-695-kb

Whatever system you devise, stick to it.  

Here are a few of my favorite tips (many of which I apply to other areas of my life and have talked about here before)

Take it in bite-sized chunks

Don’t tackle your whole home, start with the least-scary option.  Take it one drawer or pile at a time.

Get an account-a-bili-buddy

Tell someone your plans and check in with them on a regular basis. 

Ask Why

What purpose do your items serve?

I strongly believe everything you own should fit into one (or more) of three categories: Does it bring you joy? Does it serve a purpose? Does it make you happy? No to any or all? Get rid of it!

I anticipate writing more on organization and even have some ideas in the works.  Know anyone in the Seattle who needs their home or closet organized? I love to help and I’d love to include some before and after pictures to show off my talents. 

Amber

One thought on “Organizing

Leave a Reply

